Heavy Laughter

I’ve laughed so much today,
and yesterday too.
I can feel it in my stomach,
the strain of too much joy.
A bloated, heavy thing
that feels so warm and fuzzy.
That is the weight of laughter,
resting in my belly.
I can still feel it there,
even though hours have passed.
And yet all it takes is one word,
a single sad syllable.
The mention of failure or
an unforgiving message.
And the weight of laughter
begins to suffocate me.
I am being pulled downward,
my heart sinking into earth
upon which my feet still stand,
stuck in the terrible sensation of “bad.”
Leftover laughter is wonderful,
but that happiness can so easily be turned
into the weight of disappointment.

Leave a Reply

