Daughter to Daughter

If I should have a daughter,
I will tell her that the world does not belong to her,
but that she belongs to the world,
and that her life here will pass in a blur.

I will tell her to believe in herself,
not me.
If she learns to rely on others,
herself she will never be.

I will tell her to be humble but brave,
to never not say what she needs to say,
because every voice can be heard,
and to never do anything halfway.

When she cries, I will not tell her to stop,
as tears are as pure as any emotion.
If she cries, I will let her cry, and tell her
that every little tear, to me, is an ocean.

I will teach her about the rain’s voice,
and will tell her to face the wind.
I will tell her to always forgive herself,
whether or not she may have sinned.

I will tell her that love does not come easy,
and that easy love is the most true.
Her soulmate will be her sun and stars,
someone familiar yet somehow new.

I will tell her that I have given up on dreams,
because I was afraid,
and that she should feel that fear too,
but know that I had myself betrayed.

She will know that I am not perfect,
and neither is she,
but I have tried and gotten close,
and she will be better than me.

I will try to become her friend,
and see the world from her eyes.
I will let her know that when I have to go,
she will fly into her own skies.

If I should have a daughter,
I will tell her that the world does not belong to her,
but that I found something better than the world,
and that was the life of my daughter.

Leave a Reply

