Soul Reaper

It doesn’t matter how much I love you,
I am bound by steel to my duty first.
It doesn’t matter how much I care for you,
I would use your blood to quench my thirst.
It doesn’t matter that I would die for you,
I would kill you to fulfill my orders.
It doesn’t matter how much I try to protect you,
I won’t take any burden off your shoulders.
It doesn’t matter that I am someone you hate,
I will only make you hate me more.
It doesn’t matter that I can change your fate,
I would leave you to cower behind prison doors.

And yet…

It doesn’t matter how much they trust me,
I would betray them because of my love for you.
It doesn’t matter how much they need me,
To keep you alive, I would leave, no matter what they do.
It doesn’t matter how much they demand of me,
I would endure it so that they wouldn’t harm you.
It doesn’t matter how much they break me,
As long as you are whole, I am whole too.
It doesn’t matter if I eventually become their enemy,
I should never have tried to love them over you
from the start.
All along you were the one I should have been beside,
For now I know that it was you who
melted my heart.

Leave a Reply

